Windmills on CF&&E

Discuss anything news-worthy from the area.

Moderators: Moderator, Administrator

Post Reply
User avatar
Howard
Veteran
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:54 pm
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

Windmills on CF&&E

Post by Howard » Mon Sep 02, 2019 2:09 pm

Found a video of CF&E moving a train of 243' windmill blades from the I&O to the CF&E in Lima, OH. It takes 4 TTX flats per blade to haul them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PROIHVM ... kyRJW64uJM

User avatar
rrnut282
Veteran
Posts: 1925
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 9:43 am
Location: M.P. CF161.8 NS's New Castle District

Re: Windmills on CF&&E

Post by rrnut282 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 11:27 am

Nice.

Do you know destination? I see there is brand-new lay-down yard South of Redkey for more windmills.
rrnut282
(Mike)

User avatar
Howard
Veteran
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 1:54 pm
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

Re: Windmills on CF&&E

Post by Howard » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:56 pm

Comments said they were headed to Van Wert where they would be loaded onto trucks. I think I saw somewhere the final destination was north of there, but I forget where, Haviland area perhaps.

Howard

User avatar
rrnut282
Veteran
Posts: 1925
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 9:43 am
Location: M.P. CF161.8 NS's New Castle District

Re: Windmills on CF&&E

Post by rrnut282 » Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:28 pm

If NS were to re-install the siding at Redkey, they would have a very short highway haul for the new windmills there. Next closest would be CSX at Farmland or Winchester. If they had a rail unloading location for the original set of windmills, they might be able to re-use it for this phase.
rrnut282
(Mike)

slparker77
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:19 pm
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Contact:

Re: Windmills on CF&&E

Post by slparker77 » Fri Sep 06, 2019 6:47 am

There are new windmills going up on the north side of the Paulding LaFarge plant. They are visible from US 24.

wildcatsa1fan
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:42 pm

Re: Windmills on CF&&E

Post by wildcatsa1fan » Fri Sep 06, 2019 9:53 am

Yes Lafarge is getting three to offset our electric cost. First blades up yesterday

Post Reply