Muncie Rail Fan Plop Spot

Here's the place to just kick back and discuss pretty much anything under the sun.

Moderators: Moderator, Administrator

Post Reply
User avatar
jett37
Veteran
Posts: 852
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: Delaware Co. In.
Contact:

Muncie Rail Fan Plop Spot

Post by jett37 » Fri May 18, 2018 5:39 pm

All the old Code lines have been removed from CP229 (Walnut St) to Lincoln Ave. Really making it nice for photos. Also Monday 5-21 CSX and NS will be shut down for replacement of the diamond at CP229.
Attachments
20180517_095553.jpg
5-17-2018

User avatar
Bob Durnell
Veteran
Posts: 334
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: Fort Wayne IN

Re: Muncie Rail Fan Plop Spot

Post by Bob Durnell » Sat May 19, 2018 9:22 am

How many trains would you expect to see there during daylight hours? I have never actually railfanned Muncie.
The sweetest sounds in the world: A pair 567's at idle, and a non turbo 645 in run 8!

User avatar
rrnut282
Veteran
Posts: 1833
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 9:43 am
Location: M.P. CF161.8 NS's New Castle District

Re: Muncie Rail Fan Plop Spot

Post by rrnut282 » Mon May 21, 2018 8:24 am

Both CSX and NS run hot and cold, sometimes at the same time. You might get 10 trains in 2 hours or you might get 1 or 0. I think my personal best was 12 trains in 2 hours. YMMV
rrnut282
(Mike)

User avatar
jett37
Veteran
Posts: 852
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: Delaware Co. In.
Contact:

Re: Muncie Rail Fan Plop Spot

Post by jett37 » Tue May 22, 2018 7:40 am

Mike is correct, it can be hit and miss but more often then not I usually see six between 8 am and noon. Take your favorite snacks and a couple magazines, sit back relax and take your chances. Bob J.
4-26-2018 muncie ns L88 3603.jpg

User avatar
jett37
Veteran
Posts: 852
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: Delaware Co. In.
Contact:

Re: Muncie Rail Fan Plop Spot

Post by jett37 » Tue May 22, 2018 8:49 am

Bob maybe this will give you an idea of trains through Muncie. From my notes of my last visits to the plop spot.
4-12-18 Thuraday 4 csx, 3 ns 11:00 until noon
4-26-18 Thursday 4 csx, 2 ns 10:00 until noon
4-30-18 Monday 2 csx, 1 ns 9:30 until 10:30
5-17-18 Thursday 2 csx, 4 ns 8:30 until 11:00
5-18-18 Friday 2 csx, 4 ns 11:30 until 1 pm
5-19-18 Saturday 6 csx, 3 ns 9:00 until 12:30 pm

Post Reply